Day 13 – Wander #30dreamdays

10 Sep

wan·der·lust

noun \ˈwän-dər-ˌləst\

: strong longing for or impulse toward wandering

 

In my Walk By Faith post I talked about how it has gotten easier for me to take action without knowing the end game.   I trust God that I will figure it out.

I was thinking about that tonight and realized that I just like to wander, for the sake of wandering.   I don’t do it often enough because in my current lifestyle, there is so much to be done that I feel the constant gnaw of the to do list.

I sometimes wonder what the trade off is for this accomplishment?  What am I missing in the wandering world?

Some may see wandering as having no purpose.  For me, it is about being free to explore whatever, wherever, whenever.   It is about connecting the dots without stressing about whether that is leading me anywhere “immediately” useful.  Instead of accomplishment, I get fulfillment.

Wandering allows me to absorb the fine details of experience that I might normally overlook because they don’t serve an immediate purpose.

It creates space in my life for refreshing things to enter in.

I am “more present” while wandering.  I find joy very easily.  I see beauty in the most obscure places.  I can breathe easier.

I dream of restoring wandering to its rightful place in my life.

Leave a Reply

