Trending: #quotes

2 Sep
Foreshadowing

Because this is impossible to read, I’ve copied the text into this blog post

I posted the photo to the right on my personal Facebook page just now with the comment:  Foreshadowing…

I only decided to look for my own Facebook quotes when I was writing my first Inspiration post (will publish that later today) and I needed to access the Marianne Williamson quote.  So I went to my own Facebook quotes and realized how telling these quotes really were, especially since I had already decided on my Day 6 Dream which was born out of watching Randy Pausch’s last lecture today for the first time in 4 years.

So here are ALL of the quotes currently on my Facebook About Me page:

The brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. They’re there to stop the other people. –Randy Pausch

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?
Actually, who are you not to be?
You are a child of God.
Your playing small does not serve the world.
There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.
We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.
It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.
And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people
permission to do the same.
As we are liberated from our own fear, Our presence automatically liberates others. —Marianne Williamson

“If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away.” ~Henry David Thoreau

“Don’t be pushed by your problems, be led by your dreams.” ~proverb

4 Quotes…that’s all she wrote

So this post is called Trending because the quotes we share or make our own in our About pages and profiles, they speak volumes about who we are or where we are at this moment.   And it is a bit of a case of which came first, the quote or the result?  In my case, I think it is both.

I just started leading a Life Group at my church and I am excited to start examining our lives and where we are going and letting others KNOW me on a deeper level.  I originally wrote that sentence as “getting to know each other on a deeper level” and then I realized I can only control what I do.  I can only choose to let myself be seen.  I can’t control whether I can really see anyone else.  They control that.  I just pray that by being so transparent, I “unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.”

#BKNOWN

 

Leave a Reply

